• Change Colour
  • Font Size
  • Exact matches only
    Search in title
    Search in content
    Search in posts
    Search in pages
    Filter by Categories
    News from Members
    Upcoming Event
    News & Updates
  • +91- 96 67 07 88 66


Zonal Representatives


National Coordinator

Dr Rajesh Saini
Dr Rajesh Kumar Saini is the National Coordinator on the VISION 2020 INDIA board.  Dr Saini is CEO, Siliguri Greater Lions Eye Hospital. He moved to the field of eye care management & administration after completing M. Phil in Hospital & Health Systems Management from BITS-PILANI. He also specialized in Quality Health Care Management from AHA –Noida & Managing Human Resources for Health in India  from PHFI. Dr Saini is Life Member of Academy of Hospital Administration & Member of Asian Society of Quality in Health care. Dr Saini has more than 12 years working experience in eye care hospital management.
Asim Sil 2

East Zone Representative

Dr Asim Sil
Dr. Asim Kumar Sil  represents the eastern zone states on the board OF VISION 2020 INDIA. He has been working in Vivekananda Mission Ashram Netra Niramay Niketan, rural eye care centres in West Bengal since 1995. Dr Sil is MBBS from R G Kar Medical College, Kolkata, DO from Aligarh Muslim University, DNB (Ophthalmology) from Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai, MSc (Distinction) in Community Eye Health from ICEH, University of London. His main areas of interest are community eye care and prevention of childhood blindness. He has worked with NPCB in different population based surveys in Eastern and North East India. He works closely with organisations like Orbis, Sightsavers, Seva, PHFI and Mission for Vision in various projects as volunteer faculty and mentor. He had been in the Board of Vision2020: The Right to Sight-India twice before. He is a recipient of C S Reshmi Award conferred by AIOS.
Janiyaniji 2

Central Zone Representative

Mr L C Janiyani
Mr L C Janiyani represents the central zone states on the board of VISION 2020 INDIA. He is the Executive Trustee, Sewa Sadan Eye Hospital, is a staunch disciple of Paramhansa Sant Hirdaram SahibJi and his successor Rev. Siddh Bhauji since year 1992. He opted superannuation from his State Bank job voluntarily in the year 2007. Since then he has dedicates his life for the service of poor and down trodden.  In his present capacity Mr Janiyani as Executive Trustee of Sewa Sadan Eye Hospital and key person of other organizations providing services to the needy.
REsized Cherian

South Zone Representative

Dr Thomas Cherian
  • Dr Thomas Cherian represents the southern states on the board of VISION 2020 INDIA.  Dr Cherian is chief of Retina – Vitreous Service department, Little Flower Hospital, Kerala. He joined the hospital in 1996 after completing MS (Ophthalmology). He did a long term fellowship in Retina & Vitreous from L.V. Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad, and has been chief of Retina – Vitreous Service since 2001. Dr Cherian also was the Head of Ophthalmology at  Little Flower Hospital from 2004 to 2012 and has contributed significantly in developing the department and making it accessible to the needy population of Kerala. Community Eye care is as much a passion for Dr. Cherian as Retina. He also serves as the General Secretary of Kerala Society of Ophthalmic Surgeons, Governing Council Member of Vitreo Retinal Society – India, Convener, Diabetes Blindness cell, IMA Kerala State Branch, Treasurer, Eye Bank Association, Kerala and Member, Kerala Blind School Society.
Atul Kapoor

North Zone Representative

Mr Atul Kapoor
Mr Atul Kapoor represents the northern states on VISION2020INDIA Board. Mr Kapoor is Advisor & Board Member at SightLife (a global non-profit focused on eliminating corneal blindness),providing strategic oversight for the organization’s strategy and operations.  In his prior role, as Chief Operating Officer of PSI/India, he was responsible for strategic direction and implementation of programs across key health areas – RMNCH+A, TB, HIV/AIDS, Gender based Violence, NCDs across the country. After a successful stint in the corporate world, he transitioned to the not for profit sector, to follow his calling – to leverage his learning and skills for a greater cause. He strongly believes in the power of ‘one’ and how it can make an impactful difference. During his tenure with the for-profit sector, Mr Kapoor adopted a results-oriented approach across stints in FMCG, Pharma and Telecom. Moving within and across different learning experiences, he has actively worked on mergers and acquisitions, setting up business operations beyond India (Egypt, South Africa, Russia, Bangladesh) and helped organizations to scale, enhance value and achieve accelerated growth. He holds a Bachelors in Pharmacy Science (BITS, Pilani) and a Master’s Degree in Business Management (IRMA, Anand) and is a certified trainer in Stephen Covey’s programs.

Northeast Zone Representative

Mr Aaron Basaiawmoit
Mr Aaron Basaiawmoit represents the North-Eastern states on the board of VISION 2020 INDIA. He is currently the CEO for Bansara Eye Care Centre, Shillong and is the Director Administration for Bansara Institute of Ophthalmic Sciences. With over 8 years of experience working in the eye health space, he has successfully conceptualized, fund-raised, executed multiple projects collaborating with various INGOs to help improve the eye health status for the people of Meghalaya and lead the team at Bansara. Mr Aaron Basaiawmoit has been the joint winner of the Financial Times and Sightsavers International Global MBA Challenge 2012 - Core Member of the Team RighttoSight. He Co-Founded an online education technology startup called Pyoopil in 2013(Acquired by Ronnie Screwvala’s firm UpGrad in 2016). A member of the Academic Council of Martin Luther Christian University, Shillong, Mr Aaron completed his Bachelors of Engineering(Mechanical) from Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra. A Young India Fellow 2012-13 (1 year PG Liberal Studies Scholarship by IFRE and SEAS, University of Pennsylvania) and represented India as a founding UNLEASH Talent in 2017(A Global Platform for innovating on the SDGs). He is passionate about making a difference in the fields of healthcare, education and technology.